← All cancellation guides
FreshBooks logo

How to Cancel FreshBooks

Last verified

Official FreshBooks PolicyOfficial source

support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/115011044847-How-do-I-downgrade-or-cancel-my-account

Rechecked : support.freshbooks.com still states the headline terms shown here (3 months, 90 days, 5 days, 7 days, prorated refund). How we verify

Summary

You can cancel FreshBooks via online. Refunds or charge disputes are limited to 3 months of fees and must be requested from FreshBooks Support within 90 days. For recent payments, there is a grace period of 5 business days / 7 calendar days for refund requests. If you downgrade mid-cycle, a prorated credit is applied to your next subscription payment.. Steps: Using a web browser, disconnect any active bank connections to halt the import of transactions and expenses.. Select your profile picture or initials located in the top right corner..

Cancel Via

online

Refund Eligibility

Refunds or charge disputes are limited to 3 months of fees and must be requested from FreshBooks Support within 90 days. For recent payments, there is a grace period of 5 business days / 7 calendar days for refund requests. If you downgrade mid-cycle, a prorated credit is applied to your next subscription payment.

Video Guides

Search on YouTube

How to Cancel — Step by Step

  1. 1Using a web browser, disconnect any active bank connections to halt the import of transactions and expenses.
  2. 2Select your profile picture or initials located in the top right corner.
  3. 3Choose 'Billing and Upgrade' from the menu.
  4. 4At the bottom of the page, click on the 'cancel your account' link.
  5. 5You will be prompted to leave a comment and then confirm the cancellation.

Billed Through a Third Party?

  • If you subscribed through the Apple App Store, you must cancel through Apple's subscription management settings.
  • For subscriptions made via the Google Play Store, cancellation must be done through your Google Play subscription settings.

Reactivating Your Account

  • Your data will be preserved after cancellation, and you can reactivate your account at any time to regain access.
  • Accounts that remain inactive for 30 days or more may be deactivated and deleted. You will be notified by email before any deactivation occurs.

Additional Notes

  • After cancellation, your account will stay active and accessible until the end of the current billing cycle.
  • Upon cancellation, all recurring expenses, recurring templates, and retainers will be deactivated.
  • Team members will lose their ability to log in, and clients will not be able to comment on or pay invoices.
  • You'll get an email confirming the cancellation request with your last day of access, and a final email when the cancellation is complete.
  • If you're on a Select plan or don't see the option to cancel, contact FreshBooks Support.
  • FreshBooks' pricing page offers a satisfaction guarantee: contact FreshBooks within the first 30 days after purchase for a full refund.

Other software & app subscriptions

All software & app subscriptions compared →